Weezer – Riff Raff


trip report: weezer at avalon boston 5/8/05
May 8, 2005, 11:21 pm
Filed under: Just Stuff

I just got back from seeing the band perform tonight, and let me tell you, it was awesome. Ringside was ok, kind of unique but kind of boring at the same time. Weezer was awesome. They started with Tired Of Sex, which shredded quite hard. All of the new stuff was very mehhh except for “This Is Such A Pity”, which was awesome, and “We Are All On Drugs”, which made me throw up in my mouth. For those not familiar (probably most of you), the avalon is a pretty small club in boston, right behind fenway. It fits maybe around 2000 people _very_ snuggly. The weather outside was shite, so I spent my free time before the show began in mcdonalds instead of in line. The second I walked through the door and laid eyes on the golden arches, I was accosted by a man looking for weezer tickets. When I told him that I didn’t have any extras, he then asked if I wanted to buy red sox tickets. Ticket scalpers are the official scum of the universe. I might at this time mention that I spent the entire night fearing that my car would be towed/booted, because I was parked in an MBTA paid lot, but there was nobody to pay the money to. Today was a crazy day, because there were two red sox games; one was originally scheduled for today, and the other was postponed from yesterday until today. As a result, there was absolutely no parking in the city. We drove in and parked north of boston, and took the subway the rest of the way. But alas, I digress. We (me and three comrades) hadn’t been inside five minutes before ringside came on. As I mentioned, they were mediocre at best. The weezer merchandise was outrageously expensive; t-shirts were 25, a weezer polo shirt was 40, and hoodies were 60. Needless to say, I didnt get the “Weezer: rocking the bitched since 1994” shirt that I wanted. It’s probably for the better though, since the band has been around since 1992 so the shirt doesn’t make sense anyways. Anyhow, weezer came on after ringside was done, and played a great set. Not a single song from maladroit was played; perhaps they have come to terms with the fact that that album blows. I saw karl sitting in the sound area playing on his laptop, but I didn’t say hi because he had his headphones on. Rivers is the least animated musician I have ever seem. He just stands there, leaned at this bizarre angle, tipped backwards sort of. It is odd. Anyways, when the show was over, we went to store24 and I proceeded to drink a whole 2 litre soda. Then I went home and wrote this. Wow I hope someone reads this because my wrist hurts from typing.

21 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The more I read about Rivers this past tour the more I think he’s just a real cock. I bet he’ll be all active and so forth for the Japanese.

He should go back to playing like he did in 1994 and 95; add a little animation and intensity to his playing.

Comment by Mike

Well, the only time I’ve seen Rivers putting some energy into his performance was backin ’97. And then there was lots of alcohol involved because it sounded like shit

Comment by nnn

so was this your first weez concert? i think that they’re just getting warmed up for the next tour in the summer. i still loved em when i saw them in detroit. i saw them a couple times before at Cobo Hall for the Midgit Tour and DTE for the Enlightenment Tour. I thought Enlightenment was amazing cause rivers and the gang really just let loose on their jambs and let everything flow together with improv and hard rockin… i can’t wait for the summer tour.

Comment by Justin

no, i saw them in 2001 on the hyper extended midget tour. i missed them on the enlightenment tour because i didn’t have any money 😦

Comment by tory

tory, you shouldve asked me about parking, i used to live on a street with free parking just a few blocks away across the fens.

Comment by poopman

lol @ store 24… its like you stole my old neighborhood aww

Comment by poopman

i guess i didn’t realize you were from boston poop. were you there? i live in newburyport.

Comment by tory

can you keep postin that St. Paul boot. I’m about to lose my sweet internet connection and would like to get the rest of the show before the end of the week (because I drove 700 miles to be at that show, and it rocked).

Comment by bret

email me.
and tory, i’ve been talking about the bostonian stallion who hosts me for quite some time…

Comment by benji

not actually from there, but yea cool whatever!

Comment by poopman

you are confusing me!

Comment by tory

school, tory.

benji you can probably afford 5 more bucks right?

Comment by poopman

I saw them in Toronto, I thought they rocked. I thought Ringside blew, the singer didn’t even get the weezer fan club thing right. Anyways, We are all on drugs is an awesome song.

Comment by Weezerfan1991

welcome to the world of weezer!

Comment by benji

i get it now! we are all on drugs is one of the worst songs lyrically and musically that i have ever heard. the only reason people like it is because it is about drugs. ok, wow, you did drugs once. congratulations.

Comment by tory

i do drugs and i hate it.

Comment by poopman

though i’m not really into the song, you just know it’s gonna be a big hit for the radio.

Comment by Justin

ps: what’s store24?

Comment by Daniel May

If Rivers wants to play w/o forcing pre-coordinated punkhops and guitar windmills, he can. If Rivers wants to stay calm and concentrate while he plays and sings, he can. If Rivers wants to sodomize an unconcious badger onstage, he can. They’re his songs, that’s his band and that’s his show. Let him play how the hell he wants to.

Oh yeah, and I’m still pro-Maladroit.

Comment by Brodie

who are you to say what rivers can or can’t do?

Comment by benji

“Let him play how the hell he wants to.”

Let me complain 😦

also, store24 is a convenience store

Comment by Tory




Leave a Reply

